Creating an Android app to pull your profile from Linkedin and apply to a job via company API

I love the Parse platform, used it in my previous project so I wanted to apply for their open "Software Engineer (Platform)" position. They give 2 options: You can send in your resume+cover letter via email OR... send a POST with relevant info to https://www.parse.com/jobs/apply

OK, first of all second option is more fun, and I will learn some new things. But the problem is, how do I make my job application unique? Why not make an android app to send the job app via the job app API, a la app-ception :) Eureka!

Here is the plan:

  1. Pull profile from LinkedIn
  2. Form a JSON just the way Parse wants it using that profile
  3. POST json to URL

HOW

Go to developer.linkedin.com, sign in with your LinkedIn account and create an app. Under "OAuth User Agreement", find "Default Scope" and check "r_basicprofile, r_fullprofile, r_emailaddress, r_contactinfo". Once created, note down the OAuth Keys. You will need them.

LinkedIn uses OAuth, so you will need https://github.com/fernandezpablo85/scribe-java. Read the instructions, download all the required libraries. There is also linkedin-j, but I preferred Scribe.

Create your android application, I use Eclipse, and import the libraries. Now you got all you need to start.

You can find my code for the app @ https://github.com/madmed/ParseJobApplication_App

If you need any help, let me know and I will do my best to explain. In the mean time, enjoy!

2 responses
Hi, interesting post. I'm researching building an android app that you can: 1. fire up 2. have it show you the linkedin profiles of people in your next meeting (by reading their names or email addresses from the phone's calendar) do you think it's possible? and what apis do I need to use? Thanks! Sei
Hi, It has been a long while since I worked with LinkedIn APIs, so I am not really up to date with them. I think it is certainly possible. I was recently made aware of this library: https://github.com/CloudRail/cloudrail-si-java-sdk I haven't had a chance to use it yet, but give it a try!