Points to consider when buying a new/used/lease car

I put together this list when I was thinking of buying a new/used/lease car. I hope it helps!

  • Know the invoice and MSRP price
  • Ask for the price through their internet site first
  • Find  rebates
  • Research your cars, list the dealers and prices for each car. Print them out. Make sure salesmen knows you have that list.
  • Go towards the end of the month, midweek early morning.
  • Do not buy on the first visit.
  • Make an offer on the car and put a deadline on the offer. "I will buy it for x$ but my offer is valid until I walk out of this place."
  • Before finalizing the deal, get up, walk away and call your spouse/talk to whoever is with you and come back asking for more discounts.
  • Have a print out list. That is not the only car you can buy. That is not the last car on Earth.
  • Ask for the final price, everything included (tax + paper work + Delivery charges, titling fees, and other closing costs)

Also, consider buying this book: "Don't get taken every time"